Italy, 2 Lire 1812


ID Number: YB27-0302
Category: Modern Coins
Description: Italy, 2 Lire 1812
Country or State: Kingdom of Italy
Year: 1812
Period: Kingdom of Napoleon
Head of State/Ruler:

Capital: Venice and Milan

Government Constitutional Monarchy

King: Napoleon I (1805-1814)

Viceroy: Eugène de Beauharnais (1805-1814)

Reign: 1805-1814
Currency: Lira
Face Value: 2 Lire
Obverse: Head of Napoleon I facing right, date and mint mark below
Obverse Designer:  
Reverse: Crowned shield surrounded by denominantion, value below
Reverse Legend: REGNO D'ITALIA, 2 LIRE
Reverse Designer:  
Edge: Inscription: "DIO PROTEGGE L'ITALIA"

Type: 2; Halberds with sharp tips

Coin alignment ↑↓

Mint Mark: V (Venice)
Composition: Silver 0.900 (Ag)
Diameter: 28.00 mm
Weight: 10.000 grams (0.2888 oz.)
Mintage: 241,427
Krause & Mishler Number: C# 9.3
Other Catalog Number: Gigante: 135; Pagani: 20; (fr) C# 9.3
State of Conservation: Extremely Fine (XF)
Rarity: Rare

Proof (Prf) € -
Brilliant Uncirculated (BU) € -
Mint State/Mint Condition (MS) € -
Uncirculated (Unc) € 1050.00
Extremely Fine (XF) € 430.00
Very Fine (VF) € 130.00
Fine (F) € 50.00
Very Good (VG) € -
Good (G) € -


The Kingdom of Italy (Italian: Regno d'Italia; also Regno Italico) was a state founded in present-day Italy by Napoleon I, which was fully influenced by revolutionary France, which eventually led to the kingdom's downfall.

The Kingdom of Italy was established on March 17, 1805, when its predecessor, the Italian Republic, became the Kingdom of Italy, with its king being Napoleon and the twenty-four year old Eugène de Beauharnais as its viceroy.

Originally, it consisted of the former territories of the Italian Republic: the Duchy of Milan, Duchy of Mantua, Duchy of Modena, the western portion of the Republic of Venice, a portion of the Papal States in Romagna, and the Province of Novara. It was later given the Venetian provinces of Istria and Dalmatia down to the city of Cattaro and the Duchy of Guastalla. Afterwards, land from Gradisca, the Republic of Ragusa, and Tyrol were also added to the Kingdom of Italy.

After the abdication of Napoleon on April 11, 1814, the kingdom eventually fell.

The Kingdom of Italy was given a new national currency, which replaced the local coins that were circulated during the times of the Republic of Italy: the Italian lira, which was the same size, weight, and metal of the French franc. Mintage was decided on by Napoleon with a decree on March 21, 1806, and this decree became effective in 1807, when there was a production of the new coins, being minted in Bologna, Milan, and Venice. The coins issued were composed of copper in smaller denominations, silver in middle denominations, and gold and fine silver in the higher denominations. The lire was divided into a division of 100 cents as well as a division in 20 soldi.